Andrea portrait

One of the hardest things to do in Photoshop or any image editing program is to make a good, clean selection. I know its something I always struggle with. I downloaded a trial version of Topaz ReMask3 and watching the tutorials, it seems to make  intricate selections involving hair and fur completely possible. I specifically downloaded the program for a composite I am doing for a friend. It is two separate portraits of her parents from the 1940s. She wants the parents put into the same photograph. The portrait is fairly pleasing, but I’m just not pleased with the hair selection, ergo the download of Topaz ReMask. I tried it on another photograph just recently taken of my new daughter-in-law, and I’m more more pleased with its results. I think it must be very important that the focus is crisp and not soft was it is in the 1940s photographs.  The attached is my second try using Topaz ReMask3.  Not perfect, but I can see it is definitely something I want to learn more about.

Andrea before Topaz Remask 3

Andrea after Topaz Remask 3

Leave a Reply

