New pumpkin just sprouting

Finally, A Pumpkin!

New pumpkin just sprouting
I planted pumpkins for the very first time last June. I was amazed how those vines escaped their designated areas and infiltrated my tomato and pepper plants. I got wonderful big yellow blooms, but no pumpkins. I went to the source of all knowledge, Google, to try and find out why I wasn’t getting any fruit. Who knew. There are male and female flowers and if there aren’t enough bees to pollinate the female flowers, there won’t be any fruit. I even got instructions on how to hand pollinate the flowers, which I decided I would try next year.

We had our first frost the other night and I had contemplated ripping out all the remaining plants just two days ago. And low and behold, what do I find? Three days before Halloween, I have my first pumpkin. I don’t think I’ll be carving it though.