Weekly Photo Challenge: Transmogrify

corleyfoto-transmogrify

Transmogrify: “to change in appearance or form, especially strangely or grotesquely; transform.”

I have to admit this word stumped me. I guess I’ve heard the word before and even though I was a fan of Calvin and Hobbs, I don’t remember the transmogrifier, the cardboard box that Calvin used.

I took this photo a couple years ago on the island of St. Croix in the US Virgin Islands. My husband and I were sitting on the veranda of our cabin and watched as the sky steadily changed and darkened and harkened the oncoming storm.

It’s funny when you see a photo you haven’t looked at in a while. I stared for the longest time at the left side of this photo wondering what the heck I was seeing. I kept thinking the shiny pointed object was the blade of a knife and for the life of me, I couldn’t figure out how a knife had gotten into the picture. It was only after zooming in on the image and studying it for a while, I realized it was the light reflecting off the top of a deck umbrella. Phew. Solved that problem. I thought I had a gremlin or something! Perfect for a Freddy Kruger Halloween!.

To see more of this week’s challenge, click here orTransmogrify.

One thought on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Transmogrify

  1. Pingback: Transmogrify: Prams and Parenthood | What's (in) the picture?

Leave a Reply

