Back in the Valentine Day

Earl and his race car circa 1969

My husband has always had a love for anything that goes fast; especially cars and motorcycles. Back in the 60s and 70s, he owned a number of cars which he raced on local quarter mile drag strips. For Valentine’s Day, I surprised him with this 5″ x 7″ restored photo of him and his 1966 Plymouth Belvedere. The original photograph (below) was 3″ x 4″. He was going through old racing photographs and had left the stack of them sitting on his desk. this picture was among them and I knew he would love to have it enlarged.

Earl and his race car circa 1969I snitched the photo from the stack, scanned it and put it back. After scanning the original at 600 dpi, I used Photoshop to repair it. I cropped it and enlarged it at 5% increments using Bicubic smoother, until it reached 7″ x 5″. I didn’t think I could make it any larger and not lose quality. I cleaned up some of the scratches and other blemishes using both the clone stamp and the spot healing brush, darkened the image by multiplying the layer and took out some of the green tint. I matted and framed it and gave it to my husband this morning for Valentine’s day. He loved it. Of course now, he wants me to do some other ones.

Leave a Reply

