National Center for Missing and Exploited Children Digital Forensic Imaging

Several years ago, I had the privilege and pleasure of attending the National Center for Missing and Exploited Children’s Digital Forensic Imaging training on the campus of the University of Florida, Tampa. This was one of the best experiences of my life. Not only did I receive concentrated training in Photoshop, which I love, but the training was held on a beautiful campus in a totally beautiful part of Florida.

One of the things we learned to do was to reconstruct facial features of individuals, who for one reason or another, would not have been able to be depicted in their current state. We also learned how to age regress a person in a photograph which is not nearly as difficult to do as age progression which is also done at the National Center.

One of the other students in my class, whose abilities I could not hold a candle to, was Sarah Krebs, a Michigan State Trooper and forensic artist. Sarah agreed to pose for photographs for some age regression practice. One of the methods I have tried since my training, is  facial swapping. In this collage, I used a photograph of myself from 1971 (OMG LOL) and blended it with the photograph of Sarah. I also put a different shirt on her to more match the age I was going for. The name, Brianna Pez, is, of course, fictitious.

Here is a photograph of Sarah in her trooper’s uniform. You can read about Sarah’s abilities by googling Sarah. She was also profiled on a television show I watched not too long ago.

Leave a Reply

